Welcome guest

I have wanted to invite some guests into my garret for a while and let them sit down at my desk. I have finally come around to actually doing it. It’s always nice to interact with my readers through comments, but I also like the idea of presenting splendid writers, some new voices, to my own readers. I’m so glad the writer using the pen name Faith Lyonhart agreed to open what I hope will be a series of guest bloggers that will appear here from time to time. I am going to publish the first text written by another blogger tomorrow. I am very excited about this treat!

I am posting a video today, which will be a sort of introduction to tomorrow’s topic. I’m not sure how it is compared to the people that invented gospel music, but I listened to Oslo Gospel Choir in the 80’s and 90’s. So did just about everyone else in Norway. Gospel in Norway was Oslo Gospel Choir and for a long period this was also mainstream. So they appeared on popular TV shows and people that didn’t go to church, went to listen to this choir.

I haven’t listened to them for a long time, but have played them quite a bit in recent weeks. This song isn’t OGC at their best, but it’s a catchy tune that I’ve been humming for a while, and as usual their songs have a good message. This is from a concert in the delicious town of Gouda, Netherlands.

11 thoughts on “Welcome guest

  1. I love that song! One of my favorites! 🙂 But it did surprise me they sang it in English. I wonder what it how it would sound in Norwegian.

    Gouda? As in the cheese? 🙂 Oh, how I miss cheese! 😦 (and I know you and your family does too.) Maybe we could to the middle east, find a camel, milk it, and make some “casein-free” cheese, as camel milk is allegedly the only milk from an animal that is casein free. I think it was your wife who shared this arcane fact with me…I can’t remember.

    1. They sing mostly in English, which is a shame. I can understand it with the classic American gospel songs, although I don’t see anything wrong in translating the songs, but the conductor seems to prefer English too. He writes some of their songs. It’s sort of expected because gospel is seen as an American genre. I’m afraid it’s common in music to depreciate our own language. It’s interesting to compare this trend to country and rap. Most of it is awful because they are trying to be something they are not, but there are some that sing in a Norwegian dialect and they sing about their own lives. The rest of them just seems fake. There is something wrong when the gospel sounds bad, but there are a few choirs that really shouldn’t try sounding American.

      I like Oslo Gospel Choir, but it would be nice if they sang more in Norwegian. We do have a long traditition ourselves, and I suspect that quite a few fans don’t really get the meaning when they sing in English. It just sounds good to them.

      I would love to have some good alternative to cheese. We all really miss it. They only sell tofu here, and that’s not an option for us.

  2. The part that really amazes me is how they sang it without any sort of accent. I wonder if it is possible to speak with an accent, but not sing with one? Maybe I am just over-analyzing, but they sounded so “American,” it was hard to believe they were Norwegian.

    I hope Norway does not become too Americanized. It is clear that you all have been infected with the “consumer culture,” but your wife has told me so many stories about the cultural traditions, celebrations, and other activities which Norwegians have preserved. I think most of the equivalent ones here have been lost, forgotten, co-opted, or outright corrupted.

    I guess perhaps I should not equate “Americanized” with “consumer culture,” but it does seem to be this country that exported that culture (if it can be called that) around the world. It is sad that that is what we are known for now.

    So, with regards to cheese…is the cheese, “Gouda” from the Norwegian town, Gouda? Or am I mistaken in this cheese association? Perhaps my craving for cheese sees cheese everywhere!

    1. Americans seem to have a bad reputation for spreading consumerism/materialism.

      Re gospel music: if it proclaims the Good News of Christ’s victory, it qualifies. 😉

  3. Christ is more than risen bodily from the dead.
    He’s more than ascended physically to the throne of God.

    He revealed Himself through John to the remnant churches as The Lamb Slain — worthy to receive the fullness of the harvest: glory, thanks, power, wisdom, might, blessing, honor — through those He’s saved.

    Y’shua (Yeshua Messiah / Jesus Christ) …
    – was physically crucified on Passover
    – entombed on Unleavened Bread (*)
    – resurrected physically during First Fruits
    – ascended & 40 days later sent the Holy Ghost on Pentecost
    – will gather His bride on Trumpets
    – judge the damned on Atonement
    – dwell forever with the saved during Tabernacles

    While His physical body lay dead, Christ in His spirit body, took the keys of hell and death.

    – Zech. 9:9-11 “… by the blood of thy covenant I have sent forth thy prisoners out of the pit wherein is no water.”
    – Hosea 13:14 “I will ransom them from the power of the grave; I will redeem them from death: O death, I will be thy plagues; O grave, I will be thy destruction: repentance shall be hid from mine eyes.”
    – Acts 2:24 “Whom God hath raised up, having loosed the pains of death: because it was not possible that he should be holden of it.”
    – Eph. 4:9-10 “Now that he ascended, what is it but that he also descended first into the lower parts of the earth? He that descended is the same also that ascended up far above all heavens, that he might fill all things.”
    – Col. 2:14-15 “Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross; And having spoiled principalities and powers, he made a shew of them openly, triumphing over them in it.”
    – 1 Peter 3:18-19 “For Christ also hath once suffered for sins, the just for the unjust, that he might bring us to God, being put to death in the flesh, but quickened by the Spirit: By which also he went and preached unto the spirits in prison

    This fallen earth is the prison for enemy angels and the damned.

    – Matthew 12:39-40 “But he answered and said unto them, An evil and adulterous generation seeketh after a sign; and there shall no sign be given to it, but the sign of the prophet Jonas: For as Jonas was three days and three nights in the whale’s belly; so shall the Son of man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth.”

    the “heart of the earth” = hell

    * – a high sabbath / holy day … not just the weekly rest day

    notes:
    a. Romans, Greeks, and Hebrews reckoned days and calendars differently, for instance with a sundial — and not a clock.
    b. The Jews counted sundown to sundown (evening to evening) as a day.
    c. “easter” even back then was also secular and pagan holiday.
    d. The Jews kept God’s holy days.

    Luke 24:25-27 “Then he said unto them, O fools, and slow of heart to believe all that the prophets have spoken: Ought not Christ to have suffered these things, and to enter into his glory? And beginning at Moses and all the prophets, he expounded unto them in all the scriptures the things concerning himself.”

    He is Risen, indeed !!!

    1. correction:

      Pentecost is 7 weeks after First Fruits (7x7days). And I believe 10 days after Christ’s Ascension. So Y’shua remained 40 days after resurrection to ascension.

Leave a Reply

