Time out

It hasn’t exactly been smooth sailing so far this summer. It’s been a bumpy ride and a lot of family drama. We are still not a family that sits at home to vegetate, like some people seem to think, so we are out trying to enjoy ourselves. We have our music and books, and we enjoy going to the different festivals and museums.

Weather wise this summer has been really chilly. So much in fact that this is probably going to be a bad year for fruit and flowers because we still don’t have a lot of insects. There’s usually a lot of flies, mosquitos and bees, but it’s been too cold for them this year. Yesterday was a nice day, the first relatively warm day with sun and 18 C/74 F.

I wrote several posts last summer about holiday/experiences on a budget. We had a public debate in Norway on the topic after Red Cross and the government talked about how important this was to children. I didn’t translate all these posts, but A ruined childhood will provide you with some of the information.

We have had a strained economy for many years, so we are not used to going away, but that doesn’t mean we don’t get the summer holiday feeling. We moved a cross country last summer and now we have just moved again. We just moved about 3 km this time, but getting a new apartment with a deposit is very expensive. So we are being tourists in our own community again. We are hoping to go to Legoland in Denmark before our daughter gets to be too old for it, and hopefully we’ll be able to next year.We went to the museum farm yesterday.The local museum is spread out. They have a museum on the harbour where they show coastal culture and how important the ocean has been to this area. At the farm a few miles inland they show how farming was in the mid 19th century.

They originally planted oats, which they used for flat bread and porridge, but in the early 19th century these farmers alternated between grains one year and potatoes the next. They also had cows and sheep. The most fascinating thing about the main house was the dowry. I can’t remember when this happened, but I remember something a guide at the same farm told me years ago. These were not rich farmers and when the daughter in the family was getting married, her bedroom was the dowry. They took this extension apart and I suppose they used the material as a part of the new house they built.

I like classic literature and these novels makes good TV-drama as well. We may think of it as romantic, but could you imagine waking up at five in the morning, and maybe even earlier? The house was very cold and you had to get a fire started before you could cook. Then you may have had to go and the only option was the outhouse, and I know from experience how unpleasant that can be (my grandparents had one at their country-house). They may have had some newspapers for toilet paper, but I suspect they used what they had plenty of, grass and hay. Don’t forget you had to go to the barn to milk the cows as well. After doing all this you could have breakfast before going back to work. I’m so glad I didn’t live 150 years ago! The next festival we’re gong to will be in the nice little community called Skudeneshavn.

I took a few pictures with my mobile:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Time out

  1. Lego and Legoland certainly has changed a lot since my childhood. It’s far too technical for me to be of much help if my daughter needs it. I want her to get into the serious stuff like building a robot, but I’m afraid even a child’s toy is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

